Florida’s Rule on Completion of the DHSMV approved 4-Hour Basic Driver Improvement Course

For certain types of traffic violations, Florida Statutes 322.0261 requires completion of a 4-hour Basic Driver Improvement course approved by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. You must take the course after a conviction for:

1. Highway Racing (as a driver or passenger); or

2. Reckless Driving.

You have to take the course even if the court never makes it a condition of probation. In fact, for some reason, the courts almost never make it a condition of probation.

After the conviction, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles will send a letter requiring the course within 10 days after receiving notice of judicial disposition, because their records show that the driver was convicted of a traffic violation that requires the BDI course pursuant to F.S. 322.026.

If you do not take the course then your driving privileges will be cancelled indefinitely. You will receive a order of license cancellation that says: “failed to complete basic driver improvement / a violation of 316.074(1) or 316.075(1)(c)1, 316.172, 316.191 or 316.192.

Reckless Driving Reduced from DUI

If the person’s DUI case is reduced to reckless driving then the 4-hour Basic Driver Improvement course is required. The BDI course is required even if that was not ordered by the court or negotiated with the prosecutor as a condition of probation.

Insurance Reduction

A person might also take a course on Basic Driver Improvement in lieu of receiving points on your driving record or to receive a discount on your insurance rates.

Finding a 4-hour Basic Driver Improvement Course in Tampa, FL

You can refer to your local telephone directory yellow pages under “Driving Instructions” or “Traffic School” to locate a Driver Improvement school that teaches Basic Driver Improvement courses in your area.

You can also take this course online by visiting http://www.flhsmv.gov/ddl/drivingcourses.html. When you enroll in the course let them know that you are registering for the class in order to comply with this requirement.

The DHSMV will not accept out of state schools to meet this requirement.

Additional Resources:

Florida’s Basic Driver Improvement Course – Visit the website of the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) to learn more about the approved 4 hour course for basic drive improvement.

This article was last updated on Thursday, March 31, 2016.

One Comment

  1. Harvey morales
    Posted November 6, 2017 at 14:01 | Permalink | Reply

    This course is available in Spanish

Post a Comment

%d bloggers like this: